The book

This richly documented and illustrated art book is a work in memory of an unknown swiss genius creator, Frank Gloor, his mechanical workshop – almost unchanged since 1929 – and the Bengali gas lighter. Manufactured during the chaotic years of the Great Depression, the Bengali has attained true iconic status by virtue of its rarity, purity, and craftsmanship. The 74-page volume takes the reader through a detailed portfolio of a timeless book, made entirely in Switzerland by exceptional craftsmen. Available in a limited and numbered edition of 200, it has been created as an ode to the senses of sight and touch. While the text sheds light on one of the most iconic lighter of the century and the biotope from which it emerged, the photographs bear witness to this cryptic lair, a place where time has held its breath, through the sensitive and passionate eye of Christian E.

open book on top of several stacked books
  • Limited edition numbered from 1 to 200
  • 74 pages, 103 photos and documents in black and white and in color
  • “Old fashioned” offset printing
  • Swiss binding, hand-made and sewn
  • Hard covers with canvas and printed by typographic process with gold leaf stamp
  • 24 full size portfolio pages
  • For the 2nd cover, handmade cobalt and gold marbled paper

The Bengali lighter

The Bengali gas lighter was originally conceived in Sainte-Croix, high up in the Jura region of Vaud, Switzerland. But it was actually produced between 1929 and 1939 in the Frank Gloor & Fils workshop in Pully down by Lake Geneva. Frank Gloor’s ambition was to build the best lighter of its time, a concentrate of Swiss know-how, technology borrowed from the watchmaking world, and high-quality precision. The Bengali lighter, a rare object that has become a cult among collectors around the world, saw its production strangled by the Wall Street Crash and the outbreak of the Second World War. While its long-established competitors sold their lighters by the millions, fewer than 5,000 Bengalis were ever produced. Crafted from solid brass, nickel, and tempered steel, the wonderful Bengali lighter is definitely an exceptional object. One has now the opportunity to find out everything about it!

open book on top of several stacked books
Bengali lighter - The Swiss gas lighter of 1929
Frank Gloor in 1953.
Photo framed and hung at the entrance of his workshop.

Frank Gloor, the inventor

Frank Gloor, born in 1880, was the inventor and creator of the Bengali lighter and of the workshop that has borne his name since 1929. This genius mechanic, entrepreneur, and self-taught inventor patented the first back-pedal brake for bicycles (called the Torpedo) in 1902. This invention revolutionized the world of cycling: these brakes were – and still are – fitted to millions of bicycles around the world. One of his two grandsons, Daniel Gloor, a mechanic like his grandfather, his father, his uncle, and his brother, has been working in his grandfather’s workshop for over 60 years. He celebrates his 86th birthday this year, 2022, and contributed to the realization of this book.

About me

A connoisseur of ancient mechanics who’s acutely aware of the disappearance of many buildings marking the architectural and industrial fabric of our region, I set myself the challenge of creating a book in homage to a workshop that I have been frequenting for almost 30 years. In addition to the incredible saga of the Bengali lighter, the trail of breadcrumbs that I followed on my search, the workshop itself is a pure piece of history that, although modest, deserves these few lines to avoid oblivion. Finding my services as an entrepreneur and travel agent underutilized during the Covid pandemic, I took advantage of these two years to accelerate the completion of this project, which I had originally planned for my retirement. I’m glad I decided to do so. I hope the reader too.

Christian Elmiger

CONTACT

14 + 13 =

Le livre

Ce livre d’art richement documenté et illustré est un travail à la mémoire d’un créateur de génie méconnu, Frank Gloor, de son atelier pulliéran – quasiment inchangé depuis 1929 – ainsi que du fameux briquet à essence Bengali qui y fut fabriqué pendant les années chaotiques de la Grande Dépression. Ce briquet s’est indéniablement hissé au rang d’objet iconique par sa rareté, son épure et sa bienfacture. Au gré des 74 pages, la lectrice et le lecteur découvre non seulement le briquet, mais aussi un morceau d’histoire du canton de Vaud. Ce livre ravira les collectionneurs, les fumeurs et fumeuses de pipes ou de cigares, les nostalgiques du passé et les esthètes. La confection soignée de cet ouvrage tiré à 200 exemplaires se révèle être une véritable ode aux sens de la vue et du toucher. Si les textes portent la thématique manufacturière du briquet centenaire et son biotope, le portfolio plein format est quant à lui imprégné du regard de Christian Elmiger témoin sensible et passionné de cet antre cryptique qu’est l’atelier Gloor, où le temps a retenu son souffle.

Bengali lighter book
  • Édition limitée et numérotée de 1 à 200
  • 74 pages, 103 photos et documents en noir et blanc et en couleur
  • Impression « à l’ancienne » en offset
  • Reliure dite « Suisse » réalisée à la main et cousue au fil
  • Couvertures rigides entoilées et imprimées par procédé typographique avec tampon à la feuille d’or
  • Portfolio de 24 pages plein format
  • Pour les 2ème et 3ème de couverture, papier marbré cobalt et or, fait à la main

Le briquet Bengali

Le briquet à essence Bengali, imaginé et dessiné à Sainte-Croix, dans le jura vaudois, a été produit entre 1929 et 1939 dans l’atelier « Frank Gloor & Fils » à Pully. L’ambition de Frank Gloor a été de fabriquer le meilleur briquet techniquement réalisable, sorte de concentré de savoir-faire helvétique, de technique empruntée au monde horloger, quintessence de précision et de haute qualité. Le briquet Bengali, objet rare devenu culte parmi les collectionneurs du monde entier, est hélas né un mois avant le krach de Wall Street: ainsi, quand ses concurrents déjà établis de longue date vendirent leurs briquets par millions, le merveilleux Bengali fut produit à moins de 5000 pièces. Laiton massif, nickel, acier trempé… le briquet Bengali est résolument un objet exceptionnel. Grâce à ce livre, vous saurez tout lui !

open book on top of several stacked books
Briquet Bengali - Le briquet suisse à essence de 1929

Frank Gloor en 1953.
Photo encadrée et suspendue à l’entrée de son atelier.

Frank Gloor, l’inventeur

Frank Gloor né en 1880, est l’inventeur et le créateur du briquet Bengali, ainsi que de l’atelier qui porte son nom depuis 1929 et jusqu’à ce jour (2022 !). Ce mécanicien de génie, entrepreneur et autodidacte a en outre inventé et breveté le premier frein à rétropédalage pour bicyclettes (dit frein Torpédo) en 1902. Une invention qui révolutionna le monde du cyclisme et dont les freins équipèrent – et équipent toujours – des millions de vélos partout sur la planète. L’un de ses deux petit-fils, Daniel Gloor, mécanicien comme son grand-papa, comme son papa, comme son oncle et comme son frère, travaille encore dans l’atelier centenaire de son grand-papa. Depuis plus de 60 ans ! Il fête ses 86 ans cette année et contribua à la réalisation de ce livre.

A propos

Amateur de mécanique ancienne, attentif à la disparition de nombre de bâtiments marquants du tissu architectural et industriel de notre région, je me suis lancé ce défi de réaliser un « livre-héritage » sur cet atelier que je fréquente depuis presque de 30 ans. Outre la saga incroyable de ce briquet Bengali, qui est mon fil d’Ariane, l’atelier en lui-même est un pur morceau d’histoire qui, bien que modeste, mérite ces quelques ces lignes et photos pour lui éviter l’oubli. Entrepreneur et agent de voyage sous-employé durant le Covid, je mis à profit ces deux ans pour réaliser de façon anticipée ce projet prévu  « pour la retraite » avec quelques années d’avance. Pour mon plus grand plaisir, que j’espère partagé.

Christian Elmiger

CONTACT

9 + 9 =